The Council

Hawthorn Parish Council

Hawthorn Parish Council is the first tier of local government representing the residents and the community of Hawthorn. We  look after the village greens, play area,  and arrange a number of local   community events.

In addition we are consulted on local planning applications and we produce quarterly newsletters which are distributed to every household and a monthly electronic newsletter which is forwarded to all who register to receive it.


A list of Councillors and contact details are here

Parish Clerk

The Parish Clerk is Lesley Swinbank  who administers all of the work of the Parish Council.

Contact details  :-

Lesley Swinbank

c/o  Springwell House,  Spring Lane, Sedgefield. TS21 2HS

01740 622429

email :


The parish council meets on the third Monday of each month except August.

The notice for the next meeting is here

Agendas are posted on the two notice boards outside the Community Centre and also on the junction of West High Lane and Stockton Road on the Tuesday of the week before.    The  agenda for the next meeting will be here the week before the meeting.

Each meeting includes a time for Public Participation when all residents can give their views , comments and ask questions.


The draft minutes of each meeting are posted here within 5 days of the meeting. The minutes are then  approved at the following appropriate meeting.

Annual Parish Meeting and Report

the Parish Council holds its  annual parish meeting between March and June. It is the opportunity for residents to come along and listen to the Council's Annual Report and ask questions of their Councillors.

In Hawthorn this meeting is generally held on the third Monday of March at 7pm in the Community Centre.

The Annual Parish Meeting for 2020 was cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The Annual Report for 2022 is here

The Draft Minutes of the Annual Parish Meeting 2022 are here