HAWTHORN PARISH COUNCIL

The Annual Meeting of the Hawthorn Parish Council was held at 7pm on Monday 15th May 2023, in the Community Centre.

MINUTES

Present

Cllr Diane Hughes (Chairman)

Cllr. Sheila Irving (Vice – Chairman) Sheila Wilson, Carolyn Winter, Maxine Smith

Officer: Lesley Swinbank (Parish Clerk)

3 Members of the Public:

1 Election of Chairman

RESOLVED

Cllr Diane Hughes was elected as Chairman of Hawthorn Parish Council

2 Acceptance of Office of Chairman

Cllr. Diane Hughes then signed the Acceptance of Office of Chairman

3 Apologies

Cllrs. Gary Thompson, Alan Askew DCC Cllr. Angela Surtees

Election of Vice Chairman

RESOLVED

Cllr. Sheila Irving was elected as Vice Chairman of Hawthorn Parish Council

5 Election of a Grievance Committee

RESOLVED

To elect Vice Chairman and Cllrs Maxine Smith, Alan Askew

6 Election of an Appeals committee

RESOLVED

To elect the Chairman and Cllrs Gary Thompson, Sheila Wilson, Carolyn Winter

- 7 RESO
- 8 Approval of the following which are available on the Parish Council website.

8.1	Standing Orders
	RESOLVED
	To approve.
8.2	Financial Regulations
	RESOLVED
	To approve.
8.3	Delegation Scheme
	RESOLVED
	To approve.
8.4	Code of Conduct
	RESOLVED
	To approve.
8.5	Effectiveness of the Internal Auditor
0.5	
	RESOLVED
	To approve.
8.6	Financial Risk Assessment
	RESOLVED
	To approve.
Electio	n of representatives to outside bodies: -
9.1	County Durham Association AGM RESOLVED
	To elect Cllr Diane Hughes
9.2	Smaller Local Councils Committee
	RESOLVED
	To elect Cllr Diane Hughes
9.3	East Durham Local Council Committee
	RESOLVED
	To elect Cllr Diane Hughes
9.4	Other organizations

None

9

HAWTHORN PARISH COUNCIL

10 To re - affirm Hawthorn Parish Council meets the criteria to adopt the General Power of Competence

(Localism Act 2011 sections 1 -8, specifically s1(1)) as set out in the Parish Councils (General Power of Competence) (Prescribed Conditions) Order 2012.

RESOLVED

To affirm the Council's compliance with the criteria in meeting the General Power of Competence.

11 Appointment of the Internal Auditor

RESOLVED

To re-appoint Mr. Gordon Fletcher as the Parish Council's Internal Auditor

12 Dates of Meetings 2023 / 2024

RESOLVED

To approve the dates of meetings for 2023 / 2024 as circulated.

The Chairman thanked everyone for attending and closed the meeting at 7.05 pm.