Hawthorn Parish Council

Chairman : Cllr. Alan Askew

Parish Clerk: Lesley Swinbank MBA, Fellow SLCC

Springwell House, Spring Lane, Sedgefield, Co. Durham. TS21 2HS

01740 622429



The Parish Council discusses current planning applications at its monthly meetings. Residents are always welcome to come along and give their views and comments during the 'Public Participation' item and before the Council make their recommendations on each individual application.


All applications can be accessed on the Durham County Council website here


Most recent letters to the Planning Authority can be viewed here:-

  1. Objection letter re change of use at the Pemberton Arms (November 2017) here
  2. Objection letter re the Stapylton Arms application for change of use ( May 2017) here


Hawthorn village also includes a conservation area. A map of this is shown below.

Conservation Area

You can contact the Parish Council in several ways.


By e mailing, telephoning or writing to the Parish Clerk


Lesley Swinbank, Hawthorn Parish Council

Springwell House, Spring Lane,Sedgefield,Co Durham, TS21 2HS

Tel. 01740 622429


Additional information is shown below.