Chairman's Award

 Hawthorn Parish Council

Chairman : Cllr. Alan Askew

             Parish Clerk: Lesley Swinbank  MBA, Fellow SLCC

      Springwell House, Spring Lane, Sedgefield, Co. Durham. TS21 2HS

01740 622429

Chairman's Award : This is now known as the Norman Hughes Awa

This is a new Annual Award preseneted at the Annual Parish Meeting each year.

In 2019 the Award was presented to Ken Rowe in recognition of the work he had done for Hawthorn over many years.

Nominations for the 2020 Award will open in December 2019.

The Parish Council recognises the importance of acknowledging the positive contributions made to the parish and its community through the actions of its residents. Members are keen to recognise the achievements of those people who voluntarily and selflessly work to improve and enhance the lives of local people.

In recognising the huge benefit of this kind of work it is hoped that others will be inspired to contribute to make Hawthorn an even better place to live.


The aim of presenting the Chairman's Award is to promote pride in the community and to promote the idea of the community as something to be valued. The presentation of the award will provide an opportunity to increase awareness of the good works in the parish and allow that work to be celebrated.


The Award will be presented to an individual(s) who has demonstarted outstanding effort and contribution to Hawthorn.


Will be be by the Parish Council.


Nominations are invited between 1st December and 28th February each year and accepted in the designated boxes in the Community Centre, Stapylton Arms  and e mail to the Parish Clerk. The winner will be invited to a presentation at the Annual Parish Meeting in March.

Nominations cannot be accepted for Councillors or members of the Parish Council staff.

Download a nomination form here