Hawthorn Parish Council

Chairman : Cllr. Alan Askew

Parish Clerk: Lesley Swinbank MBA, Fellow ILCM

Springwell House, Spring Lane, Sedgefield, Co. Durham. TS21 2HS

01740 622429

Hawthorn Parish Council values greatly its work with all of our residents.


We aim to take an active lead in representing all sections of the community and at the same time to provide a variety of local community events, which appeal to the widest range of residents, young to old.


Information is always available on this website and our homepage gives details of what is happening currently.


In addition the Parish Council ensures everyone is kept fully informed .

This is achieved by:-

We always welcome your views and comments.

These can be forwarded by e mail to the Parish Clerk or by completing the contact form.


This website is also available for local groups and organisations to give information and advertise their activities and events.

If you would like to have a page (free of charge) or have any information posted then please e mail the Parish Clerk. Information can also be added into the monthly electronic newsletter.




Citizen’s Advice

Debt Workers advice line

New contact details are as follows:

Switchboard: 0300 323 1000 (Monday – Friday 9am – 5pm)

Debt Advice line: 0300 323 2000 (Monday – Friday 9am-12pm)

General Adviceline 03 444 111 444 (Monday-Friday 10am-4pm)

In addition to this, debt appointments are no longer required and clients can be seen by a caseworker at the individual drop in sessions. In the case of Peterlee, this is Monday, Tuesday & Friday 10am - 1pm and Seaham on a Monday, Wednesday & Thursday 10am - 1pm.